And…He’s Back

So…I’ve been absent a little while. Nothing happened, per se. I’ve been around. Things have been busy on all fronts. My company downsized and my team was cut in half. So very busy with that. Also, I’ve moved into my own apartment. It’s small, but it’s mine. I haven’t lived alone since 1998? It’s nice to come home, check the mail, make dinner, and watch a little TV. I’ve been a little sedentary since moving in, and I need to get back to the gym.

Remember how I had mentioned that I had figured out the secret to losing weight? Well…I did. But I unfortunately remembered how to gain it back. So I’m trying to get back into the swing of things.

Frankly, I’m trying to get my bearings. I met Dan at a pretty bleak period in my life. I had a lot of personal things going on that turned me into a different person for a while. While I wasn’t fundamentally different than I ever have been, it was a dark, stressful trying time and I was struggling to keep my head above water. In spite of this, our relationship blossomed and I’ve been very happy. But now that I’ve came out on the other side, I’m learning to be my old self again, while being in a new relationship. It’s not easy, and Dan has been great. I’m just struggling to continue to be my own person with my own time, likes, activities and friends while continuing to be the “us” that we’ve become.

Gay, straight or in between, it’s an age-old problem. I’ve seen lots of friends on both ends of the Kinsey scale lose themselves when they get into relationships. I’ve done it in the past, and due to habit and necessity I started to do it again. The difference is, I’ve caught myself and I’m trying to back my way down from the precipice.

So that’s it. I’m still here. Struggling to figure out who the new “me” is while still being an “us.”

20110626-041353.jpg

Leave a Reply

